Act My Age? Like Hell!

27 Feb

I got taken to task for my last blog “Completely Cumberbatched”.  A (now former) friend on a certain social networking site sent me a private message castigating me for my “lusting after a man 10 years your junior.  Act your age!”

Got an answer for that one.  Not a hope in hell!

Where is it written that once a woman hits 40 she can no longer admire sexually desirable men who are over the age of sexual consent?  Nowhere as far as I can see.

It seems to me that some people think that once you reach 40 you have to stop having fun.  Any sort of fun.  Running around in the rain getting soaked and laughing hysterically?  No! Children do that.  Jumping in puddles? No! Children do that.  Admiring a hot guy? No, no, no.  THAT is for teenagers!

BORING!

My mother now lives in an aged care hostel.  She has lots of fun with her like minded friends.  They laugh, tell stories, tell wonderfully dirty jokes to each other and the staff, who laugh and enjoy the fact that here are people at the end of their lives who are still getting so much joy out of life.  My mother is very popular at the home with both the other residents and staff.  Why?  Because she has fun, and in doing so brings a little fun into other’s lives.

She is probably around the age now of the elderly lady we encountered at the ballet when I was in my late teens.  We had gone to see a production of The Nutcracker.  During a quiet moment as the Nutcracker Prince danced on stage, a loud, obviously elderly, female voice rose from the audience several rows behind us.  “My, he does have a wonderful packed lunch.  Wouldn’t mind a bite of that!”  Now THERE was a woman getting maximum fun out of life.

I intend to be that woman in my extreme old age.

Meanwhile, I have friends over 40 who encourage me in my fun and happily join in it.  One of my close friends has dared me to send a photo to Benedict Cumberbatch to see if he’ll autograph it.  The photo is a screen cap from “A Scandal in Belgravia”.  Wonder if Benedict is up to signing a photo of his own bum?  We’ll find out sooner or later.

13 Responses to “Act My Age? Like Hell!”

  1. Milagros Jorge February 27, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    I’m, sooo in agreement!…there are people that seems to believe that is like the end of the line…but I never felt better! It has been suggested by “family” and even “friends” that I should be less exuberant…well sorry for them…loving and laughing is my recipe for a healthy heart….

    Like

    • margysmusings February 28, 2013 at 2:48 am #

      Exactly. You are never too old to love and to laugh. Sometimes even at the same time.

      Like

    • dorothy February 28, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Ha Ha great stuff, the day i stop looking at and appreciating a young man is the day i turned gay! xx cheers marg

      Like

  2. Amy Camorote February 27, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

    Chronological age be damned! I still have the heart of my 16 year old self. Fun is where you find it , you should enjoy yourself and be able to like what you like and do as you please. It’s called living for a reason. So I say go for it. Get that autograph and make sure you post it proudly! By the way, it’s rained here recently and there are some puddles in the yard. Care to join me.

    Like

    • margysmusings February 28, 2013 at 2:48 am #

      Just let me get my wellies and I’ll be right there! 😀

      Like

    • margysmusings March 7, 2013 at 8:35 pm #

      *sigh* No point in sending the photo. Just been reading that Benedict no longer signs items sent to him. The fan mail has just got too much. 😦

      Like

  3. Joyce K. February 28, 2013 at 3:06 am #

    There was a saying I heard once in reference to someone reaching a ‘milestone’ birthday. “Young enough to party, old enough to have enough money to do it right!” That became my motto the minute I heard it.

    Like

  4. Cathy Howat February 28, 2013 at 5:14 am #

    You go, girl

    Like

  5. Ani Taylor February 28, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Much like Peter Pan I refuse to grow up, and I think, personally, “growing up” the way everyone talks about it sounds a lot like dying a little bit inside. My ex used to lecture me that I was too immature while he gave up all of the things he enjoyed because he was “an adult now”. Nope. We should be able to laugh our asses off over silly things & perv over hot men (dat ass… Oh my) & enjoy life however we can. Dirty jokes & foolishness abound! If when I make it “over 40” I no longer fangirl & enjoy the things that make me happy you all have free reign to shoot me.

    By the way… I’m writing this while watching Sherlock season 1 episode 3 with commentary because listening to Mark, Ben & Martin is joyful. They’re amazing. If you haven’t done it you should, you’ll giggle your ass off at them.

    Like

    • margysmusings February 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      My dad used to tell me “Growing old is mandatory; growing up is optional.” I have chosen to exercise that option. 😀

      I have a dvd date with a friend over the coming weekend to watch the Great Game with commentary. I am looking forward to it.

      Like

      • Ani Taylor February 28, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

        Yes! I like that… I’m going to steal that as my motto. Lol.

        It’s very good, really awesome hearing the three of them talking, you can just tell how well they get along & it has some really interesting bits in it. I even watched A Study in Pink with commentary too… Steven, Mark & Sue… Equally interesting and funny, but Benedicts voice is like liquid sunshine so obviously his commentary wins. 🙂

        Like

    • margysmusings March 4, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

      Watched the Great Game with commentary at the weekend. I couldn’t stop laughing. Benedict and Martin come across as such naughty guys. The three of them were obviously having so much fun. It was wonderful.

      Like

  6. mel February 28, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    As a 41 year old who loves Cumberbatch, I say HERE HERE !! Two thumbs up! Cheers 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

