Shooting Sherlock

14 Apr

I have been following the news detailing the shooting of the first episode of season 3 of Sherlock, “The Empty Hearse”, with great interest.  And, having seen many of the photographs, also with great envy.  I so wish I could be in London right now to get the chance to see Benedict, Martin and the crew at work.  It’s times like this that you realize Australian really is too damn far away from anything.  *feels sad*

Some brilliant photos have emerged.  Benedict Cumberbatch at his most gorgeous…not to mention his nuttiest.  It is great to see a man so comfortable with himself that he has no qualms about looking like a complete dork in photos.  No raging Hollywood ego in action here.

One other thing has emerged.  Just how damn unusual the cast and crew of Sherlock are.  Most would get annoyed at the number of fans turning up to watch.  Not this lot.  The fans have been warmly welcomed, and in turn have responded by being well behaved and respectful (mostly).

Crew members have taken fans up to the door of “221B Baker Street” to let them be photographed…and sometimes Benedict or Martin have made their day by inserting themselves in the shots. 

Both Benedict and Martin have happily posed for photos and chatted with fans.  Not by word or look has it even been intimated that the fans presence is a nuisance.

Stories have come out of fans, having been all day at the shoot without food, being fed biscuits by Benedict, and pizza by Martin.  And non-fans wonder why we love these men?

As a complete back room geek girl, I am adoring the photos of the technical aspects of the shoot.  Particularly the recreation of the fall from The Reichenbach Fall.  Even if I did almost fall off my chair laughing at the photo of Benedict suspended in mid air keeping the rain off with a large umbrella.  The  lyrics of the Mary Poppins song “A Spoon Full of Sugar” kept going through my mind: In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun, you find the fun, and snap the job’s a game. 

Yup, sounds like working on Sherlock to me.

One unsubstantiated story from the shoot really delighted me.  Allegedly a fan had nothing with them for Mark Gatiss to sign and asked if Mark Gatiss would high five them instead.  Mark’s response was supposedly “I only do french kisses.”  I did find myself wondering just what Mark’s response would have been if said fan had called his bluff.  Which is exactly what I would have done if I was that fan.  Mark Gatiss would probably still be running.

The Sherlock fandom is probably the luckiest fandom in the world.  Not just tolerated, but encouraged, one could almost say loved, by the cast and crew.  It isn’t the usual toxic co-dependency you often get between shows needing an audience and fans needing something to follow. 

Together we are something unique.

2 Responses to “Shooting Sherlock”

  1. Patricia Ford April 17, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    My sentiments exactly. I am so envious I wasn’t in London during this “fun” time. What a once in a lifetime experience. Like “Margy” I genuinely appreciate following the photos from fans detailing the filiming. I am living vicariously. Maybe I’ll catch the next shooting.

    Like

    • margysmusings April 17, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      I can hardly wait for shooting to start on “The Sign of Three”. More wonderful photos and heartwarming stories for sure.

      Like

Leave a Reply

