A Matter of Privacy

10 Jun

I really do worry about people under the age of thirty.  They seem to have no concept of privacy.  I have frequently noticed that they have long telephone conversations in public without the faintest thought that others may be listening.  In fact, in some circumstances, like this morning, the others may have no choice.

A young woman in about her mid twenties got on the tram this morning talking loudly on her mobile phone.  This is, as I have said, a relatively frequent occurrence.  What wasn’t normal was the subject matter.  I did NOT need to hear the details of her sex life at 6am this morning.  Or at any time, for that matter.

Oh, and contrary to popular opinion, construction workers are actually delicate little flowers.  There were a number of them on the tram and they were all blushing furiously by the time the young woman reached her stop.

Apparently her boyfriend’s name is Daniel and he really loves having his dick sucked.  I was mentally singing songs to myself to try and block the words and images.  Unfortunately, the  song that I found myself mentally caroling was “My Boy Lollipop”.  This was not appropriate, but it did make me giggle.  A lot.  Actually, more than a lot.  I was nearly hysterical with laughter.

By the time she exited the tram I was ready to fall on my knees and offer prayers of thanks to any deity I could possible think of for getting her off the tram.   And I think some of the construction workers were crying with relief.

The younger people of today live their lives so publicly through social media that I think they really do not understand that some things are simply not appropriate to be shared with the world at large.  Trust me, details of your sex life are not an appropriate subject for sharing.  Not even if you’re a Kardashian.

Social media encourages us to share everything.  Those of us over thirty are probably more wary of what we share, because growing up in the 70s and 80s there wasn’t the outlet for bulk sharing of life’s trivia.  But the kids of the 90s onwards have grown up with chatting in public on mobile phones and sharing every experience via Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc.

Give it another twenty years and social media will be fully integrated into the human body.  You’ll only have to think it and it will be shared on Facebook.

Come to think of it, that would probably be an improvement.  Because I’d have to be friends with you to learn about your sex life.  I feel another chorus of “My Boy Lollipop” coming on.

4 Responses to “A Matter of Privacy”

  1. Marie Edwards June 10, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    I definitely know how you feel there. That is why my mother doesn’t use Twitter very much, and is only on Facebook for family. I try to limit what I share. Facebook is only for people I know really well, have known a LONG time, or my family.

    Twitter is usually for keeping up with certain things (NASCAR, NCIS, etc). I try to only post stuff that is funny, interesting, news alerts, etc.

    I guess I’m very lucky in that I don’t have those kinds of friends (either to talk to or hear from). The only person I really talk to is my mom. If I’m out running errands anyone listening to me might hear: “did you want me to get anything on the way home”, “did you want beef or pork”. The usual “oh crap what did she need/want” kinds of conversations. Or to say I’ve arrived somewhere, love ya, and those things

    If I WERE to talk about my sex life (which I find a bit crude to talk about) … that would be done at home or at my friend’s home. NEVER on the phone. That is unless someone was being cheeky or bothersome and I’d only do it to ward them off 🙂

    But, in all seriousness, I agree that too many young people share way too much of their lives. If not only for decency, but their safety — they should stop.

    At least you had a coping mechanism 🙂 my smarty-pants self would have asked about his size and said “dear, you can do SO much better” 🙂

    Like

    • margysmusings June 10, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      Trust me, on this occasion my coping mechanism really didn’t work. LOL.

      I deliberately neglected to say that she did mention his size… just on the miniscule off chance that the poor bugger actually reads this blog.

      Like

  2. Bellz June 11, 2013 at 6:30 am #

    ROTFLMAO….Me to Marie. I would of called out as she leaving…thanks for the sex pep talk. Encore tomorrow.

    Like

    • Marie Edwards June 11, 2013 at 6:44 am #

      LOL, Bellz! Definitely, yes, that would have been hysterical! LMBO!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

