Dear NCIS Fans – Grow Up!

11 Jul

I wasn’t going to buy into the controversy which is now surrounding Cote de Pablo’s decision to leave NCIS after 7 season with the show.  However, the behaviour of certain of the fan base has really left me with no option.

It may have escaped your attention, but Cote de Pablo is a grown woman.  She is old enough and mentally competent enough to make her own decisions.  Cote has decided she has had enough.  Be adult enough, and intelligent enough, to respect her choice.

Do not whine and sob to the other actors who are on Twitter begging them to get Cote to change her mind.

Do not threaten suicide if she leaves.  That is taking emotional blackmail to levels that go beyond pathetic.

Do not start useless petitions demanding that she be reinstated.  Cote wasn’t fired, you morons, she chose to leave.  And I suspect the attitude of some of the fan base may be part of the reasoning behind her decision.

Stop acting like a bunch of whining, spoiled nine year olds.  The world does not revolve around you.  Never has, and it never bloody will.  It may actually come as a shock to some of you, but the world actually revolves around the sun.

Now back off and give Cote de Pablo the respect she deserves.  She brought a wonderful, vibrant character to life on NCIS.  We have been privileged to watch Cote grow as an actress.

Cote has the right to get on with her life in any way she chooses.  And I hope we will have the joy of seeing her in other roles very soon.

10 Responses to “Dear NCIS Fans – Grow Up!”

  1. suekay July 12, 2013 at 12:40 am #

    Thank you! Nice to know there’s other sane fans out there 🙂

    Like

  2. Bellz July 12, 2013 at 1:13 am #

    Amen. Let Cote spread her wings and be known for other roles which will make her a well known great actress.

    Like

  3. Milagros jorge July 12, 2013 at 1:13 am #

    Thanks for this post….I promise myself not to visit the NCIS Fansites, because this was due to happened and is not a good thing…I can not believe that people can act in such way..ugh…this is only fiction for Heaven sake….and she is a wonderful actress that must have a lot of opportunities out there…people changes, grow…is call life…in this case the real one….of a normal human not a fiction character….so thanks again Marge for this post! 🙂

    Like

  4. ❤HannaHeat❤ July 12, 2013 at 1:35 am #

    I can’t even tell you how much you hit the nail on the head!! This is very well written. Not rude, not nasty, just straight to the point. THANK YOU =)

    Don’t get me wrong. I love Cote and I love the character Ziva. I am sorry to see her go but IT WAS HER DECISION!!!!!!!! Fans need to let her be. Leave her to live her life.

    Again, WELL DONE!!!!

    Like

    • margysmusings July 12, 2013 at 1:46 am #

      Thank you. I really just couldn’t believe how people reacted to the news. It’s just insane.

      Like

  5. Peggy Belgard July 12, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    Margy,

    I avoid responding to such posts about so and so is leaving they’re killing the show and I’m going to start a petition and crap, mainly because I read such posts any time a show posts a video and a fan doesn’t like the story line. Fans feel that they OWN the characters and actors, they’re not being childlike at all, they’re borderline. They need counseling and therapy. They get lost in the story, confuse the actors and actresses with the characters, the situations with reality. They feel that they KNOW the people behind the lines. They don’t. Even if they watch outtakes and goofs. They don’t know jack crap. Sometimes we find an actor like Muse, who enjoys teasing and interacting fans with his posts about his career. It is about his career and what’s going on with it, but it is NOT about Muse, not Mike Franks. He can draw parallels and differences, and he points to other characters not at all like his own.

    I hope that this can be said of Cote too, that fans will be able to look to other work and see that she is a multi-dimensional actress. She is very talented. I love Ziva for the way she’s written and portrayed. She is one of my favorite characters. I didn’t like that she was part of NCIS as a full agent having been Mossad, but I sat back and enjoyed the show. It didn’t take away anything from her performance or the character’s place in the setting or show for me at all. I knew it was fiction, a fictional reality and enjoyed watching.

    Watching the character grow was wonderful to see, seeing Cote pull off that transformation in front of our eyes was great, a gift. I hope they don’t kill her off, I hope the character moves on further into this growth to something else. Cote can do it, we’ve seen her talents, we have no doubts of it.

    Metamorphosing further, the Ziva butterfly. I wonder what interesting form she’ll take this time. Give you and itches or ideas?

    😉

    Great blog post. Keep at it, Margy 🙂

    – Ditzification Personified

    Like

  6. Rhonda July 13, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    Go Margy! That is all 🙂

    Like

  7. Deb July 15, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

    Agree, totally, so much so that I’ve shared your blog on my FB.

    Like

  8. Robbie July 16, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

    I fully agree with you. I wish all the best to Cote. She has helped bring a lot of happiness to me from playing Ziva. Let her now fly to other things or roles she wants to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

