26 Seconds of Beautiful Agony

4 Aug

I have spent a large chunk of the weekend carefully examining (ie drooling over) the first Sherlock season 3 trailer.

It is 26 seconds of sheer, gorgeous, agony.  I love it.

Beautifully put together to tease and tantalize.  I think I’ve been teased to the very edge of my reason.

As Mark Gatiss wrote the first episode, “The Empty Hearse”, I am guessing that the snippets of footage used all came from his masterpiece.  Make no mistake, it will be a masterpiece.

I will admit I kept getting distracted.  Sherlock shucking his coat as he walks into (I think) a restaurant resulted in me becoming mesmerized and totally fixated on that damn errant curl on Benedict’s neck.  I just want to curl it around my finger.  I spent most of the preview muttering “Down Girl” and “Sit! Stay!” to myself. 

Then there is the expression on Sherlock’s face.  Fear, determination, and hope all chasing across his face as he crosses the room.  The urge to cuddle him into a coma becomes irresistible.

I’m still not sure if Sherlock was entering a restaurant to meet John or heading into the Diogenes Club to see Mycroft.  Incidentally, I can’t imagine Mark Gatiss wandering too far away from ACD canon with Sherlock’s return, so I am supposing the Mycroft knew Sherlock faked his death all along.  After all, in the books, Mycroft kept his brother in the loop and continued to pay the rent on 221B Baker Street.

The trailer is absolute perfection.  I adore it.  I kept sneaking back to YouTube for one more look.

There is one meeting I really do want to see though.  Anderson and Sherlock.  I have been amusing myself imagining the sick, horrified look on Anderson’s face when he realises that Sherlock isn’t dead.  I do hope we get to see that.

 

Leave a Reply

