A Killing In Kensington

22 Aug

I have said it before, but the eBook revolution has been a boon to the voracious reader like myself.

I picked up the novella “A Killing in Kensington” by Mary Lydon Simonsen some months ago as a freebie on amazon.com.  I didn’t get around to reading it until this week.  I do wish I’d read it earlier, as it is great.

“A Killing in Kensington” is a British police procedural, with the main character being DS Patrick Shea, and his new partner, DCI Tommy Boyle.

Well plotted, well written, fast paced and slick, there is much to love about this novella.  I damn near devoured it.

It was the ending, however, that really raised “A Killing in Kensington” above all competitors.  It quite literally left me open-mouthed with shock.  I DID NOT see the ending coming.  The book that can do that to me is rare indeed.

I would recommend “A Killing in Kensington” to anyone who enjoys well written police procedurals, or British crime stories.

I am eager to get my hands on Mary Lydon Simonsen’s other DS Patrick Shea books.  I am sure they will be as good as this one.

Leave a Reply

