Just Thinking

26 Aug

I received a copy of “Just Thinking: Thoughts on Spirituality, Loss, Love & One Day at a Time” by Jim Moeller free in a giveaway on the Good Reads website.

I will be honest, I really wasn’t holding great expectations for the book.  However, I can truly say that “Just Thinking” is one of the most powerful books I have read.

It’s written in the form of small bites of Jim’s thoughts taken from his journals.  This is a man who has seen adversity and met it on his terms, and it shows clearly in his writing.

I sat down and read “Just Thinking” in one sitting.  However, this really isn’t a book that should be read like that.  Its snippets of thought and wisdom really need to be slowly digested and mulled over, not gorged on like I did.

“Just Thinking” is what I call a ‘soul comfort’ book.  The type of book you pick up when your heart is heavy.  This book is not leaving my possession.  It will join the several other books on my shelf that provide wisdom and comfort when I most need it.

“Just Thinking” reminded me irresistibly of one of my favourite wisdom books – The Tao Te Ching.  Nothing I can put my finger on, I just found myself thinking that both books had a similar feel to them.

I will be spending a lot of time with “Just Thinking”.  Many of Jim’s thoughts seem to me to be perfect to meditate upon.

I would not hesitate to recommend “Just Thinking” to anyone on their own personal spiritual quest.  It’s not a “guide book” in the sense of “do this and you will be happy/successful/fulfilled” like those produced by many new age gurus.  This book is more a book of sign posts leading you down your own paths of thought and discovery.

Jim Moeller doesn’t profess to know all the answers, but he asks a hell of a lot of really good questions.

 

Leave a Reply

