The End is In Sight

27 Aug

Nope, not talking about the apocalypse or Armageddon… I’m talking about the end of the Australian Federal Election campaign.  We go to the polls  on Saturday 7th September.  Just over a week and this bollocks is done with for another three years.

I really dislike politics.  I realise every country needs a system of government and elections are the best way to get a reasonable one.  One thing that I don’t like is having my television viewing constantly interrupted with what is basically childish whining of “Pick Me! Pick Me!”  

This election has had the disturbing trend of commercials bashing the crap out of the opposition.  The Australian Labor Party’s commercials are attempting to paint opposition leader Tony Abbott as the Chief Executive Officer of Monsters Inc.  If Tony gets in, according to the Australian Labor Party, he’ll eat your children, steal your underwear, and a portal to Hell will be opened.  I have news for them… Australia already has a portal to Hell – it’s called Canberra and it’s full of lesser demons known as politicians and press secretaries!

You’ve probably realised by now that I am not a political animal.  On the political animal scale I am an otter.  I prefer to laze in the sun and play with my friends rather than even think about politics.

Right now the only politician, sitting or wannabe,  I have any time for is Julian Assange.  And this is only because there have been NO commercials on television for the Wikileaks Party.   If in the last week of the campaign commercials appear then my opinion will be dramatically revised.

Also, don’t get me started on Palmer’s United Party.  Anyone with half a working braincell should have been able to come up with a party name that didn’t have the initials P.U.P.   Always look at the initials when naming something.  The London Metropolitan Police learned that back in the late 70s when they named their latest mobile units Fast Action Response Transits! 

The other deeply annoying thing is the fact that the news programs have become de facto political commercials.  In a half hour news bulletin, there is about 20 minutes covering where the politicians were today.  Who cares?  I certainly don’t, and I am pretty sure that I am not alone in this.

*sigh*

So, just over a week to go… hope my sanity holds out.

4 Responses to “The End is In Sight”

  1. Bellz August 28, 2013 at 2:19 am #

    They all ‘can do’ Margy, so don’t you worry about that. They all have ruddy goodly ideas.

    Like

  2. cartoonmick August 28, 2013 at 5:15 am #

    Yep, I’m over it. Enough is enough.
    But for those still awake, you should all be very careful what you wish for.
    Who can believe anything any of them say.
    Like a child who has learnt how to respond to a parent, they only tell us what they know we want to hear.
    After the election, the smoke and mirrors will leave us all with tears in our eyes and bleeding from the cuts.
    Those who survive the 2013 election campaign will envy those who perished in it.
    In the meantime, we can only hope for the best and make sure the beer’s cold.

    http://cartoonmick.wordpress.com/editorial-political/

    Cheers

    Mick

    Like

    • margysmusings August 28, 2013 at 5:19 am #

      I don’t think I’ve ever believed a single thing a politician has said in my life. How can you tell if a politician is lying? His mouth is open.

      Please pass the beer. Thanks.

      Like

  3. derekgreen420 August 30, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    I don’t think my sanity will hold through another election over here. I freakin hate those commercials. They make me want to trash my TV. I don’t know whether to say ” thank goodness elections are the same in other nations”, or ” please help us all”. Someone stole my underwear & socks, but I’m not sure if it was Obama, Bush or an Elf.

    Pass that beer this way, please.

    Cheers
    Derek

    Like

Leave a Reply

