Heston’s Feast

1 Sep

I was browsing in the local dvd store on Saturday when I came across season 2 of Heston Blumenthal’s show “Heston’s Feast”.  The premise interested me.  Every episode Heston would take a  famous literary or historical feast and re-imagine it with his own special spin, and feed the results to celebrity guests.

Intrigued, I purchased the dvds.

I watched the first episode last night.  It was inspired by the Roald Dahl book “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” and the 1960’s in general.

To say I was enchanted would be an understatement.  I was enthralled from the very beginning when Heston created his very own lickable wallpaper.  I loved seeing his guests totally excited about licking the wallpaper.

I think, however, my favourite part had to be his first attempt to re-imagine duck a la orange in a very Wonka way.  An orange infused smoke bomb inserted up a duck’s arse and exploded.  Apparently the experiment was not a success, judging from the way Heston spat out the duck he tried.

I would point out that the duck was well dead and thoroughly cooked before Heston stuck the smoke bomb up its arse.

As Heston said at the beginning: “Do not try this at home.”

Buy the time we reached the chocolate waterfall, the chocolate water and the Kirsch filled golden ticket, I was totally enamoured of this series.  I have six more episodes to watch and I will be keeping my eye out for the first series on dvd.

And it goes without saying that dining at Heston’s restaurant “The Fat Duck” has gone to the top of my bucket list.  Though it will probably sit there forever because I know I’ll never be able to afford to dine there.  Still, it’s a nice dream to have.

Leave a Reply

