May the Cumber Force Be With You.

2 Sep

Rumour is gathering pace that an announcement that Benedict Cumberbatch has been cast in the new Star Wars movie is coming shortly.

Dear God I hope this rumour is true.

I loved the original Star Wars movie.  Not so much the sequels and prequels.  I’m not a Star Wars geek per se, just a devotee of the first movie.  I adored Harrison Ford as Han Solo.

I admit that I found myself speculating on Benedict possibly being in the new movie after shooting was transferred from the USA to the UK.  Wishful thinking at that point, but I started wondering what character he could possibly play.

I came up with what I think would be the perfect part.  Benedict Cumberbatch to play the son of Han Solo and Princess Leia. 

This of course would mean lots of scenes between two of my favourite actors… Benedict and Harrison.  I like this idea a lot.

Then there is the casting of other characters.  When the prequels were shot in Australia, the Star Wars franchise became a cornucopia of Australian actors.  Some of whom now make a very good living on the convention circuit. 

Maybe the new British based Star Wars could find parts for all the Sherlock actors.  Just to tip us all into geek overload.  Martin Freeman could play Luke Skywalker’s son.  Mark Gatiss would make a wonderfully berobed functionary swishing around the place giving people the evil eye.  Oh…hang on… that would basically just be Mycroft in a pretty dress.  Maybe not.

Una Stubbs and Louise Brealey would be wonderful sidekicks to Princess Leia.

And there has to be a role for Rupert Graves.  Something swashbuckling and dashing.  Of course, Jonathan Aris has to play someone something nasty happens too.  That will delight most Sherlock fans no end.

Of course, the rumour could simply just be that, a rumour with no substance.  Whatever the case, I look forward to seeing the new Star Wars movie.

7 Responses to “May the Cumber Force Be With You.”

  1. youin5minutes September 3, 2013 at 4:13 am #

    I’m excited for Star Wars so much more now! I mean, JJ Abrams is doing it which means it’s gonna be awesome! but now Cumberbatch?! YES! I love the idea of Solo’s son. 🙂
    as for what you said about Gatiss, I about died! so perfect!

    Like

    • margysmusings September 3, 2013 at 4:15 am #

      I’m only hoping that it doesn’t turn out to be just a rumour.

      Like

      • youin5minutes September 3, 2013 at 4:16 am #

        I KNOW! it seems we’ve all gotten our hopes up a little too high for this… but Cumberbatch did say that he wanted to be a lightsaber…. 😉

        Like

      • margysmusings September 3, 2013 at 4:25 am #

        Well, as the rumour appeared to be being spread by both the Hollywood Reporter and Empire magazine, maybe, just maybe, there is a large grain of truth in it. 🙂

        Like

      • youin5minutes September 3, 2013 at 4:33 am #

        let’s hope so! oh let’s pray so! I need a Cumberjedi or something…

        Like

      • margysmusings September 3, 2013 at 4:48 am #

        Cumberjedi! I love it! 😀

        Like

      • youin5minutes September 3, 2013 at 5:13 am #

        but can’t you just imagine him in one of those robes with a light saber!? YES! or he could be a spectacular sith too…. I so hope this is true!

        Like

Leave a Reply

