F is for Fanatic

11 Sep

Excuse me, but I am in a bit of a grumpy mood this morning.  I came online to discover two things.  The first one is a fantastic interview with Benedict Cumberbatch ( http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/benedict-cumberbatch-confessions-fifth-estate-625408 ), the other was whiny fan reactions to the interview.

I’ll say right now that I love the interview.  It is probably one of the more interesting interviews with Benedict that I have read.  It is obvious that the man has real depth and intelligence and I would sell my soul to have a long existential conversation with him.

And what does a section of the fandom focus on?  The fact that he doesn’t keep all the gifts sent to him.  Excuse me, be bloody grateful they reach him at all!  In most cases gifts to stars are scrutinized very carefully before they get anywhere near their intended recipient.  This is to prevent horribly unsuitable or downright unpleasant gifts getting through.  I have heard stories from people I know in the industry about the things that get sent.  One US television star regularly got sent used knickers through the mail.  Naturally they went straight into the hazardous waste.

Think about it for one moment.  If every gift was accepted and kept by the stars we would soon be seeing a new reality television series – “Hollywood Hoarders”.  Not a pretty sight – piles of women’s knickers, stuffed toys, uneaten boxes of chocolates, and the occasional plaster cast of someone’s breasts, as far as the eye can see.

The other thing that another section of the fandom is focusing on is the “fact” that the reporter didn’t like Benedict.  I hate to point it out to people, but it isn’t a law that everyone has to fall down and worship at the altar of Benedict Cumberbatch.  In fact I suspect that it embarrasses the hell out of the poor guy.  I know it would embarrass the hell out of me.  I admire Benedict’s talent as an actor and I find him incredibly attractive.  I DO NOT worship the ground he walks on.

It is only a matter of time before someone advocates tarring, feathering and then burning the poor reporter at the stake.

It’s not just some of Benedict Cumberbatch’s fans.  The delusional section of the  Cote de Pablo fandom is STILL whining about Cote leaving NCIS. 

Keep this up, my lovelies, and soon there won’t be a bloody actor left on the planet who will want anything to do with their fans.  And you will only have yourselves to blame.

2 Responses to “F is for Fanatic”

  1. Mary Loving September 13, 2013 at 1:23 am #

    OMG Benedict is human! Who knew? I think it’s a great interview and probably one of the more honest ones we’ve read. I took from it a lot of the same things you did, like how intelligent and well-spoken he is. I am dismayed, once again, to see how the constant invasion of privacy is affecting him. And I’m chuffed (and not really surprised) to learn that he identifies spiritually with Buddhism. Sweet.

    Like

    • margysmusings September 13, 2013 at 1:33 am #

      I think the constant invasion of privacy would drive me insane (some of my friends reckon I’m there already).

      I honestly don’t understand why some so-called “fans” and the paparazzi feel the need to inflict themselves on his life.

      Like

Leave a Reply

