Second Trailer For The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug

1 Oct

Came online this morning to find a friend had posted a link to the second trailer for the second Hobbit movie: The Desolation of Smaug.

Hello two minutes of meltdown.  And I mean meltdown.  It’s either extremely cute or extremely pathetic that a movie trailer can reduce a woman over forty to a squealing mess.

Martin Freeman is the perfect Bilbo Baggins.  He looks like how I mentally pictured Bilbo when I first read the Hobbit when I was 10 years old.  He looks fantastic in the trailer, and I am really looking forward to seeing this movie.  Mostly for the interactions between Bilbo and Smaug.  Having watched Martin and Benedict work together in Sherlock, I am keen to see how they interact as different characters.  Will the chemistry be as keen between them?  I think it will.  If you remember the book, the scene between Bilbo and Smaug is one of the most captivating in the entire book.  The trailer gave delicious hints of what this scene will be like.

The last few moments of the trailer, which gave us those delicious hints, reduced me to a quivering heap of jelly.

Benedict Cumberbatch as Smaug.  His voice.  It’s like there was an earthquake in his vocal chords.  He sounds like nothing I have heard him do before.  It’s been tagged the CumberRumble on the internet and I have to agree. 

I thought Benedict’s voice couldn’t get any deeper, growlier, or sexier than the Angel Islington.  I was wrong.  By all the Gods of Love was I wrong!  Benedict’s Smaug voice, at close range, would cause complete underwear destruction.  Mostly likely by spontaneous combustion.

Excuse me, I need to go extinguish my knickers.

Leave a Reply

