Fifth Estate Flops

21 Oct

Disconcerting news on the movie “The Fifth Estate”.  According to an entertainment website, the movie has belly flopped from the main deck of the Titanic.  It’s a unintentional disaster movie.  ( http://insidemovies.ew.com/2013/10/20/box-office-disaster-benedict-cumberbatch-the-fifth-estate/?hpt=hp_t3 ).

According to the website the movie, which took around US$26 million to make, took only $1.7 million in its opening weekend across 1,769 cinemas.

I feel bad for Benedict Cumberbatch.  He put his heart and soul into “The Fifth Estate”.  I have only seen a trailer for it on The Graham Norton Show, but he has captured Julian Assange perfectly.

There in, I think, lies one of the problems.  Hardly anyone in America either knows or cares who Julian Assange is.

I think Dreamworks made a major error in believing that they could fashion a movie out of Julian Assange’s ‘exploits’, such as they are.  Julian Assange is not the stuff great movies are made of.  Where is the romance?  The thrills?  Not there.  Julian Assange is an ordinary man who did some quite extraordinary things, but not enough to fashion a movie around him.

A point an American friend made too, has a lot of validity in my book.  She pointed out that releasing what is basically a political movie on the back of the government shutdown was an extremely stupid idea.  People are fed up with anything they can even vaguely construe as political.

My main fear is that Dreamworks ineptitude will end up reflecting badly on Benedict Cumberbatch and besmirching his career.  This would be extremely unfair, as from what I have seen, his performance is brilliant. 

Unfortunately, in Hollywood you are only as good as your last movie, and the great American public seems to think “The Fifth Estate” is crap.

 

2 Responses to “Fifth Estate Flops”

  1. Christine Elrod October 25, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    I’m worried about Benedict’s career too. I’m an American and I did see the film but only because Benedict was in it. There were seven people in the theater, counting my husband, my son and myself. My stomach sank when I realized how empty the theater was. The film was okay but Benedict was very good in his role but it’s hard to like Julian Assange.

    Now I worry for his future projects, like if he will be offered leading man roles again in America and that this will hurt his chances for more movies. Like you said, in America, you are only good as your last film unless you are a George Clooney or a Brad Pitt. American’s make fun of Ben’s looks, saying he’ll never be a leading man and they dislike his role as Khan, because Khan was a not a white, British villain in the series and in the 1980’s movie “Wrath of Khan”.

    This year held so much hope for Ben to attain stardom in the Usa, but unless he can get attention or a Oscar nod with ’12 years A Slave’ or “August-Osange County”….I guess I will remain his fan where he will be mostly ignored again. I hope that Ben will prove America wrong and continue to grab good roles and will become a leading man in the states as he is in Ameriva.

    Like

    • Christine Elrod October 25, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      I meant he’ll be a leading man in the states as he is in the UK and other parts of the world. He definitely deserves it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

