It’s A Small World

15 May

I was looking at my blog statistics this morning and my attention was drawn to the fact that someone from Tunisia has been reading my blog today.  Hello to my Tunisian reader.  I hope you enjoyed what you read and will return again. 🙂

I was inspired to go and look at the statistical breakdown of where my readers come from.  I was blown away by what I read.

Seeing as WordPress is an American site, it is no surprise that my largest readership of 2,223 views is from the United States.  My next four: United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, and New Zealand also make sense, as they are also countries where English is the principle language.  Yes, I realise Canada is officially bilingual.  Don’t be picky.

It was after this that I got truly mind blown.  It is humbling to think that people in countries like Kazakhstan, Nepal, Honduras, Moldova, and Iceland are reading my blog and enjoying it.  Mind you, maybe not enjoying it so much, as many of them have only visited once.  However, thank you all for coming, even the once.  It is a pleasure and an honour to get to talk to you from Australia.

I do wonder why people read my blog sometimes.  I know I have a lot of readership from Sherlock fans, and Sherlock fans are damn near a universal constant these days.  Not to mention Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman fans.  Oh, and Graham Norton fans, because not a day goes past when someone doesn’t arrive at my blog whilst searching for the elusive Graham.

But a lot of my blogs are on books I’ve read, typically Aussie things, and thoughts I’ve had.  It really does amaze me that people seem to find the meanderings of my mind both interesting and entertaining.

What I am trying to say is, thank you for reading, and for letting me reach out to you from my small part of the world to yours.

Leave a Reply

