Sherlock Holmes and the Frightened Golfer

26 Nov

“Sherlock Holmes and the Frightened Golfer” is a pastiche written by J. M. Gregson. The publisher of this book, Endeavour Press, drew my attention to the the Kindle edition when it was being given away on Amazon.  So I suppose you could say I received a copy from the publisher. ”

Sherlock Holmes and the Frightened Golfer” is a short novel, slightly longer than a novella.  However, in this case, short and sweet does the trick. The plot revolves around the secretary of the Blackheath golf course who has been getting threatening messages, which he ignores, until the sender of the messages turns to violence.

Nice little plot and a relatively fast paced read. Holmes and Watson are perfectly in character.  I could easily have believed I was reading a long lost Arthur Conan Doyle story, and you don’t get higher praise than that from me.

There are plenty of clues that will allow you to work out whodunnit.  I am pleased to say I was able to put all the pieces together and solve the case before the denouement at the end of the story. The Kindle edition as has a couple of sample chapters of a Holmes/Watson story from another author at the end, which I will be hunting down in due course.

I recommend “Sherlock Holmes and the Frightened Golfer” to any Sherlock Holmes fans, those who like Victorian crime, and golf enthusiasts.

Leave a Reply

