A Study in Pink – A Few More Thoughts

4 Jan

Here in Australia the ABC (Australian Broadcasting Commission – equivalent to the BBC) has picked up the first two seasons of “Sherlock” to show on repeat.  Even though I have them all on dvd the temptation to watch without interruptions from commercials was too good to pass by, so I settled down last night to watch “A Study in Pink” – AGAIN.

I have lost count of how many times I have watched this episode.  It remains one of my favourites, and every time I watch it, I discover something new.  I have a few thoughts to share on the subject.

I have blogged previously on the episode, in case you missed it.  https://margysmusings.wordpress.com/2013/04/21/a-study-in-pink/

John’s therapist writes that he has “trust issues” at the start of the episode.  If John has trust issues, how come he offers the use of his mobile phone to a complete stranger, to whit, one Sherlock Holmes?  The scene also raises another pertinent question.  How the hell did Ella qualify as a bloody therapist as she’s so damn incompetent?

Just how did Detective Inspector Lestrade know where Sherlock was living?  He’d just moved in that day!  Is this a continuity error…. or early evidence of Lestrade being handled by Mycroft?  There is some interesting fan fiction in there somewhere, and I DON’T mean Mystrade.

The big question.  Did Sherlock and John  save the life of the man from Santa Monica when they chased Jeff Hope’s cab, on foot, through London?  Was the mystery American to have been victim number 5?  Hope couldn’t kill him after that…there were witnesses that the man had been in his cab.

Every time I watch “A Study In Pink” I find something new.  A line I’ve missed, or in these instances, questions to be asked.

Still think the man from Santa Monica is the biggest question of all.

Leave a Reply

