Benedict Cumberbatch in Hamlet

25 Aug

I was fortunate enough when I was in London to have a ticket to one of the previews of “Hamlet”, starring Benedict Cumberbatch.

This isn’t going to be a review of the play.  Enough unqualified people have shoved their oar into that particular pond without me now shoving mine into the morass.  This is my impression of Benedict in what has become an iconic role.

I, like so many others, discovered Benedict via the BBC show “Sherlock”.  It was obvious from the first episode that here was an actor of incredible talent.  Apart from “Sherlock”, I have since watched Benedict in other things, my favourite being both versions of Nick Dear’s play “Frankenstein”, which really made me wish I could see Benedict live on stage.  I got that chance on 12th August 2015.

The role of Hamlet is one that really tests the mettle of an actor.  Apart from the final scene, the majority of the play’s drama rests on the shoulders of this one actor.  It is a role that can make an actor’s reputation, or sink him without trace.  Sir Derek Jacobi was my favourite Hamlet.  After seeing what Benedict did with the role, I now have a new definitive Hamlet.  The one I hear and see in my mind’s eye whenever I read the play, which is a lot.

Benedict’s Hamlet is a brilliantly conflicted character.  Hamlet starts off quiet and gentle, playing records and gently grieving, and then Benedict’s energy just explodes onto the stage, leaving the audience breathless.

Hamlet’s madness taking the form of a return to childhood was a perfect touch, as far as I was concerned.  The psychological return to a happier time when his father was alive and Hamlet a mere boy, gave the madness a poignancy that is often lacking in productions of the play.

Benedict, thankfully, played down the often incestuous overtones of Hamlet’s relationship with his mother Gertrude.  Those scenes have always made me feel slightly nauseous.  Thankfully, there is no hint of an Oedipus Complex in this production.

Benedict handles the extremes of the play with a deft hand.  From the madness, to the bawdy humour, to the anguish and anger of revenge, to grieving for Ophelia, Benedict never gives less than his whole heart.  One line, “O vengeance!”, cried from the depths of Hamlet’s soul, quite literally made the hair on the back on my neck stand up.

Benedict’s handling of Hamlet is, I hesitate to use the word perfection, but to me that is what it is.  He creates a Hamlet that aligns completely with my personal vision of the character.

Benedict is such a powerful actor with an enormous stage presence that television and film mute quite a bit.  You can tell he’s a good actor on screen, but it takes seeing him perform on stage to get a real measure of his brilliance.

Leave a Reply

