Fan Is Short For Fanatic

8 Sep

Once again we are reminded that the word “fan” is an abbreviation of the word “fanatic”.

I refer to the blogger who posted images of baseball bats wrapped in barbed wire online and made death threats against Amanda Abbington and Martin Freeman.

The fan blogger in question is, allegedly, a fan of Benedict Cumberbatch’s.  I say allegedly.  Because, frankly, in my opinion, such behaviour shows that the person has no real love or respect for him, because if she did, then she would not threaten his friends and co-workers!

One of the things that really pisses me off about incidents like this is that all of Benedict’s fans get painted with the same brush of lunacy.  This is one of the reasons I refuse to be drawn too deeply into Sherlock fandom, and why I refuse to accept the label of “fangirl”.  I barely survived the NCIS fandom, and frankly, the TIVA fanatics have nothing on the lunatic fringe of the Sherlock fandom.

Thankfully, the majority of Sherlock fans are intelligent, sensible, lovely people, a number of whom I have met and like enormously.  There is, however, the very small minority, to which this person obviously belongs, that has me shrieking and looking for a very tall tree to climb!

Actors and other public figures have to put up with a lot of shit.  They tend to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune more than the average person in the street.  What they should NOT have to suffer is the baseball bats and barbed wire of outrageous fruitbats!

7 Responses to “Fan Is Short For Fanatic”

  1. sarahmarcel1 September 9, 2015 at 12:53 am #

    I was completely surprised and somewhat disgusted when I heard this. It’s incredibly sad. Myself I considered to be a huge Cumberbatch fan but I don’t understand why somebody would do that. Amanda and Martin are great actors and don’t deserve that. Nobody does.
    Anyway I agree with you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • margysmusings September 9, 2015 at 2:46 am #

      Thank you. At first I didn’t want to believe, especially as I saw if via the Daily Fail, whom I wouldn’t believe if they told me the sun was going to come up tomorrow. But when I started seeing it elsewhere, I knew it had to be true, and I was deeply disgusted.

      Like

  2. Ljena September 9, 2015 at 8:36 am #

    I didn’t know what happened until Amanda tweet about it and the police.
    In every fandom is this type of people. I started in “band fandom” a long time ago and there’re cruel people, stalkers and people who threatening their (members of band) children and families. But if you say something bad (about threatening etc…) others people in fandom will lynch you. So I know this cases.
    But I wanna say that I’m glad what Amanda did; that she called the police and did something about it. Not many people would did it.
    This is not about being a fan, this is about possessive and madness. I hope they grow out of it.
    I hope that I don’t have any big mistakes in this text – not my mother language.

    Liked by 1 person

    • margysmusings September 9, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

      Your English is very good and you made your point very clearly. 🙂

      Like

  3. huckleberryfrienduniverse September 9, 2015 at 9:43 am #

    Often people start using the tv show or the fandom as an excuse to escape their own lives which is when it gets out of control. While I too love Sherlock and Benedict, I have similar reasons to not call myself a ‘fan’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • margysmusings September 9, 2015 at 8:27 pm #

      You make an excellent point about using a TV and/or fandom as an escape. People need to be able to hang up their problems from a time, but the really trouble starts when they try to turn their escape route into their full time life. If that makes any sense.

      Liked by 1 person

      • huckleberryfrienduniverse September 10, 2015 at 1:11 pm #

        Yes I completely agree with you

        Like

Leave a Reply

