I, Ripper

29 Aug

“I, Ripper” by Stephen Hunter was recommended to me by one of my GoodReads friends, Hannah.  Hannah has excellent taste.

This is probably not a book I would have picked up if left to my own devices, but on her recommendation I got a copy from the library and I’m glad I did.

“I, Ripper” is told from both the point of view of Jack the Ripper from his personal diaries, and from the notes of a reporter from the Star newspaper, Jeb, interspersed with letters written by one of the Whitechapel unfortunates.

Even though everyone knows about the killings, if not the details, I would still call this book a thriller.  Because, believe me, even though you know the crimes, you will get caught in the twists and turns as Jeb tries to identify the man killing the whores of Whitechapel.

The last few chapters are startling, amazing, shocking, and horrifying by turns.  I worked out who the Ripper was, but the real identity of Jeb, left me stunned.

Brilliant book.  A must for all ripperologists, and all fans of Victorian crime fiction.

Leave a Reply

