The Newsman: 60 Years of Televisions

27 Nov

The memoirs of veteran Australian newsreader Mal Walden were always going to be an interesting read.  I just wasn’t expecting it to be so interesting that I sat up late on Saturday night until I’d finished it, because I couldn’t bear to put it down.

A deeply absorbing look at the early years of news in Melbourne, Australia, and at the life of Mal Walden.

Big stories that I remember from my childhood, like the Balibo Five, and Cyclone Tracy, hit me just as hard as the more recent ones I’ve lived through, like Black Saturday.

I freely admit that I stopped watching television news when Mal retired.  He had a joyful presence on air that made you feel that, even though the world was going to hell in a hand basket, it would eventually all turn out okay.

“The Newsman” is a must read for every student of current affairs, and anyone interested in the history of television.

Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

