Anno Dracula

8 Dec
Queen Victoria has been persuaded out of widowhood by Dracula who is now the Prince Consort and Lord Protector of England.

Someone is carving up young new-born vampire whores in Whitechapel. They call him Silver Knife. The Diogenes Club instructs Charles Beauregard to investigate. He is assisted by a French vampire elder named Genevieve who works at a mission in Whitechapel.

It becomes obvious that these are no simple killings. We, the reader, learn early who the killer is, but Charles and Genevieve do not until the end.

A word about this book. Brilliant.

Kim Newman writes an enchanting and engaging story, and cheekily name checks as many real and fictional people as he can. I had a merry old time name spotting as I went. I don’t want to spoil it for you, but if you are familiar with Victorian/Edwardian writers and their creations you will love this book so much.

I can’t wait to get my hands on the other three Anno Dracula novels.

2 Responses to “Anno Dracula”

  1. thecorneroflaura February 12, 2017 at 12:22 pm #

    I absolutely agree with you. Anno Dracula has got to be one of my favourite novels. The world-building is marvellous, the story is really engaging and I love all the cheeky references. I also find that the book not only makes me smile at the references but allow me to springboard off into other books. I love it when a book teaches me something I didn’t know and/or widens my repertoire.

    I’ve read the other three Anno Dracula novels and, personally, I would most recommend the immediate sequel, ‘The Bloody Red Baron’. We get to see more of Kate Reed and I love Edwin Winthrop!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

