Dwarves in Space

26 Feb

First off I will say that I was gifted a copy of the book “Dwarves in Space” by the author, Sabrina Zbasnik, to read and review.

The book was described to me as “Tolkien, Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, and Firefly merged in a transporter accident”.  I honestly couldn’t come up with a better description myself.

This is about the third or fourth book by Sabrina Zbasnik I have read, and I have to say that her writing style improves with each book.

“Dwarves in Space” is brilliant.  The characters are well rounded, interesting, and individualistic enough that it is easy to develop favourites.  I am really hoping for more books using these characters as I really want to see more of the Elven assassin, Talesin.

The book follows the adventures of Captain Variel of the Elation-Cru and her merry band of misfits: elves, a dwarf, an orc, a djinn, and an accidental human passenger.  Not to mention the slightly insane onboard computer.

“Dwarves in Space” does have the feel of being the introductory novel for a series, but that does not detract from the enjoyment of it.  The first sequence sets the tone for the back story, which is not fully explored… I expect that will be in later books.  Then it’s on to a rollercoaster ride of spills, thrills, chills and the occasional outbreak of lunacy.

Read.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

